Dear Freshmen meet Alex

 

5252_266796235594_7994167_n

Dear freshmen: Just so you know

I know you’re excited! The first semester is going to be awesome! I know you’re thinking of so much right now: how many parties can you attend in one night, how many people are in your class, the boys/girls, what your roommate looks like! However, here are a few pointers to get you through your first year in college.

• Make friends in EVERY class-FAST.  At least have one person you talk to just in case you get sick and miss class. You never know when you will need notes!  You never know whom you may need. I didn’t have a car, but the friend I made did. They helped me get what I needed to get like grocery or clothing when I didn’t have bus money or if the bus station was closed.

• Sit in the front of the class. I know it sounds like grade school, but it’s the only way you may be able to focus. Everyone in class is going to have a laptop and I found myself looking at their screens. Many of them were either on Facebook or shopping online-in lecture!

• Answer questions in class (if you can) and do the readings!  Professors do throw pop quizzes at you that can really mess with your grades. Do the readings on the weekend if you can just to get them out of the way. This is the best way to get the professor to notice you. Remember, you want what they have and you need that grade! You never know, they may give you the extra point you need to get through a class if you show a little effort and interest.

• Attend functions that can benefit you!  Every chance I got to get free food on campus, I was there! A free meal never hurt and helps when you are running from class to class!  If there are job fairs or career fairs, attend them to see what companies are hiring so you can be prepared in the next 3 years.

• If there are tutoring sessions, take them! Economics was a hard class for me and I was really struggling. However, there were free student tutors at a resource center at my university. They really helped me with everything from homework assignments to general problem solving for that class. So, if you are struggling in any subject, and the college offers free student tutoring, take advantage of it. They are students just like you, but they can really help you understand the stuff you are struggling with.

I really hope this was helpful to some of you. There is so much more I want to say but I wanted to stick to the main points that you will need to hit the ground running. Just remember to have fun and do your best because this will be one of the greatest experiences of your life!

By Alex Missick UNIVERSITY OF MISSOURI Journalism School Class of 2012

Leave a Reply

