My Smile Is Here To Stay…

 

spring to summer 167

This morning started of shaping up to be one of the best days ever, I went for my morning job and I spoke to my dad all before 8am and I was happy and smiling. However, as the day progressed there were many people and situations that wanted to take my smile away and burst my bubble of joy but I fought hard and long to keep my smile, I decided that they were not worth me being angry and upset and frowning all day.

My morning devotion reminded to keep God’s presence near; it said; “I can brighten up the dullest of gray days, I can add sparkle to the routines of daily life” from Sarah Young’s devotional Jesus Calling. Throughout the day I made that my little quote, I repeated it over and over to myself, sometimes I had to read it aloud to myself. I had some projects with three week deadlines that did not have the green light but that would need to be promoted, I had two conversations that I really didn’t want to have for fear of breaking someone’s heart and to top it all my mom told me that she needed a job; something to help her help my dad who is a missionary in Haiti. I felt as if the weight of the entire world was suddenly on my shoulder. I had enough stress and problems of my own, school is less than a week away and still there was no green light. I wanted to cry and I wanted to pout but taking lessons from one of  the books that I am reading now I decided to count all the great things that I had going on in my life. Instead of frowning I forced myself to smile and instead of becoming agitated over situations and create a bad day for someone else I walked away. I help on to my smile on my face and in my heart all the while telling God that I needed Him to add just a few sparkles on my dull and grey day. I was looking outside every minute for a rainbow but I didn’t find one until I went on facebook.

While in a conversation with one of my friends on facebook I decided to ask him if he could help. I explained the situation with my mom, wondering if he knew anyone in The Bahamas who needed help without a second to spare he said of course that he would be glad to help. I was overwhelmed and overjoyed, I didn’t ask what the job was or what was the pay all I knew was that he has said yes right then and right there. I don’t know i f my mom would get the job or not but I do not that a quick yes was the sparkle to my day filled with gray.

Halfway through the day and I had one more thing to add to my life for which to be thankful. Galatians 5:22 says “ But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness,” I have lots to be thankful for and lots to smile about by God’s grace I will continue smiling. My smile is here to stay and it’s not going anywhere anytime soon. So whenever you’re having a grey day or a dull moment just smile and ask God to add some sparkles on you.

Remember smile, God loves you

Dee.

Leave a Reply

