Friday Morning Wake Up Call

maxine morning

After having a rather horrible week “tears included” I was more than happy to welcome the weekend but all did not start so well this morning. As a child the first thing that was always done in our family devotions. Everyone had to participate. Both of my parents had to be at work before 7 am which meant that devotion took place between 5:30 and 6:am every day including holidays. Sometimes I would walk into my parents room like a  zombie and would still be half asleep as worship took place and would often mumble my prayer if it was my turn to pray. My mom’s theory was that if we put God first in our lives during the day that it would make for a much better day. I did not always think this to be true until I got a rude awakening this morning.

Most mornings, worship will be the first thing I do once I get out of bed but I sort of fell out of habit for a bit. This week however, I made it my purpose to go back to my roots and make God favourite morning personality, however, going to bed late last night meant that I was not an early bird so I did not catch the worm but a bill collector caught me.

My alarm rang at 7am but as 8am approached I was still in bed negotiating with myself to simply lay there for another five minutes instead of getting up to thank God for allowing me to see another day. As I justified the extra five minutes in my head, thoughts of morning worship from my childhood came back to my memory and made me realize that I sounded a bit selfish at that time. I got up and went to go into the family room to have worship but I was too late. My cell phone rang and the call from from an unknown number. Sighing deeply, I answered it and was greeted by a voice telling me that it was my former cell phone carrier’s credit and collections company calling. I wanted to hang up the phone and say ‘I’m sorry but can you give me fifteen minutes to have my worship and then call me back”? I knew that it was not going to be an option so I just stayed on the line. I had a horrible relationship with this company and so I was not pleased at all. I tried to keep my voice calm and my tone low “ it was a horrible three years spent with that company” and I did my best until I was told that I had an outstanding balance of eighty dollars, then I lost it. I had cancelled my contract with them two months earlier with all payments updated and now, this.  I rolled my eyes continually and whispered while looking upwards “I got it”.

I got that things would have been much different had I talked to God when I was supposed to.. I would have had a totally different outlook on life as the day went by. I would have been in a better mood and I would have had the strength to maintain my composure.  I might have even gotten a “heads up” about what to expect. I would not have considered my Friday somehow ruined and would have probably be singing a song as I went about my day. This morning was a lesson that I will never forget.

Seeing another day is a grace and a blessing, never take it for granted. Remember that we do not know what the future holds so invite God to start the day with you. Ask for guidance from the Holy Spirit throughout the day. Pray for patience, joy and strength but most importantly a kind spirit. Make your early morning chat with God a priority.

“Morning by morning new mercies I see:
All I have needed Thy hand hath provided
Great is Thy faithfulness, Lord unto me!”

2 thoughts on “Friday Morning Wake Up Call

  1. God has his creative and unexpected was of teaching us valuable lessons. Thanks for sharing! A friend and I were recently speaking about morning devotions. It can be particularly challenging when you go from dependent undergrad/grad to living on your own with tons of duties… BUT nothing should come before He who gives us strength to do all things!
    Be blessed and I pray that you have an excellent week filled with morning devotions!

  2. Thank you for the comment. Morning and evening devotions are very important. Thanks for sharing and have a great week

Leave a Reply

